Stones River: A Wounded Soldier’s Account of the Suffering

I had wanted to share some sources that I have found over the years in honor of the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War. I’ve not been able to keep up with it, but before we get to far away from the Stones River/Murfreesboro time frame, I wanted to share some accounts that I have on that battle which has always been of much interest to me.  Although I live in Virginia and have done all of my writing on Virginia campaigns and battles, I cut my teeth reading about the Western Theater, so I have a latent interest that needs further cultivation.

Gallipolis Journal, January 22, 1863

FROM L. D. CARTER.

Murfreesboro, Tenn., Jan. 5, 1863.

J am compelled to occupy rather a precarious position in writing to you lhat is, on my back. I am in the Hospital at Murfreesboro. Getting along finely. I was wounded on the second day of this month by a cannon ball, or rather a shell bursting on my back and hip, which bruised me badly. I was wounded amidst the hardest of the battle, about five o’clock in the evening and laid on the battlefield till about 10 o’clock that night, unable to move. I waa injured considerably more by the men running over me after I was hurt and aside from all this, the weather was vary cold and raining I thought that I had gone through the flint mill before, but I bad undergone nothing until the present affair, which was the most horrible sight I ever witnessed, or ever expect to.

I think I shall be able to join my regiment in the course of two weeks, or at least I want to in order to get satisfaction out of the rebels. I had my horse shot from under me on the 31st December, and then fell into the hands of the rebels, but escaped from them on New Year’s morning. This was before I was hurl. My flesh is not broken only in one place, which is slight, but my bruise is tolerably bad. Capt. Ross was slightly wounded, and a number more of his Company, of whom I will give the names in my next. Our regiment suffered terribly, the loss being one hundred and seventy-five in killed and wounded- – Every house in Murfreesboro and surrounding neighborhood is used for hospital purposes and I believe all are being eared for as well as could be expected. It would be useless for me at present to attempt to give you an idea of the whole proceedings here during the late hard fought battles, but shall try to give you an abstract idea in my next, which will be soon. You can form so idea how the troops suffered here during the whole affair, which lasted seven days. We were short of rations, or hadn’t time to prepare them, without tents, the rain pouring down in torrents, and were freezing the principal part of the time. I shall rite no more at present, as I think it doubtful If you can read what I have already written. I have no ink, and am compelled to use a pencil.

Yours,

Lorenzo D. Carter

Lt. Co. I, 18th Ohio Volunteer Infantry

Leave a comment

Filed under Battles, Other Campaigns and Battles, Uncategorized

Leave a comment